Lacan Circle Cartels Information

The Lacan Circle is an associate group of the New Lacanian School

 

 

 

Lacan Circle Cartel Presentation Days are coming up!
28 May and 4 June 2022 – free and open to all
The details are here

 

In 1964 Jacques Lacan invented a particular form of working group

 

He named it a cartel

 

 

A cartel is a small group of three to five members, ‘cartelisands’, who elect to study and research together. They choose a ‘plus-one’ to lead and animate the life of the cartel, facilitate a productive group dynamic, and maintain a distance between knowledge and truth.

 

Each cartelisand chooses a question or a theme of work: the reading of a seminar, the investigation of a concept, the elaboration of a case, the connection between psychoanalysis and another field, etcetera. To each person’s own investigation a common theme is added that becomes the title of the cartel.

 

Cartel meetings are arranged in a rhythm and format that is decided between the cartel members.

 

“The success of the School will be measured by the production of work that is acceptable in its proper setting.”
Jacques Lacan The Founding Act
 1964

 

The work carried out does not lead to a collective product or to a knowledge taken from the group. It is rather a matter for each one, according to the moment of his relation to psychoanalysis, to submit what could be noted of what was being able to be modified in his relation to analytic knowledge.

 

Lacan Circle encourage high quality cartel output:

 

Through participation in our May and November ‘Cartel Presentation Days’ and other events

Through publication in the Lacan Circle journal PsychoanalysisLacan

Through publication in the NLS Online journal Lacanian Review Online

Through publication in the NLS cartel Newsletter 4 + one quartreplusone

 

 

 

A cartel may not last longer than one or two years; each one must conclude so that new knowledge can appear.

 

Anyone with an interest in Lacanian Psychoanalysis may participate in cartel work. There are no fees, and no prerequisites other than desire. You may invite colleagues to form a new cartel, or you may register your interest here, and we can help you find others to work with.

 

 

Lacan Circle Cartels - Registration of Interest

  • If so, please provide their names, and please ask them to ALSO register their interest, including YOUR name.

 

Current Lacan Circle Cartels

Perversion

Plus-one
Tim Themi
tim.themi@unimelb.edu.au
Melbourne, Australia
Perversion
Member
Ross Spencer
rossspencer695@gmail.com
Adelaide, Australia
Perversion
Member
Meera Lee
jayapich@gmail.com
New York City, USA
Perversion
Member
Nicolas Tajan
n.tajan2@gmail.com
Kyoto, Japan
Perversion
Member
David Sigler
dsigler@ucalgary.ca
Calgary, Canada
Perversion
Member
Kooper Wilson
koopercwilson@gmail.com
Portland, USA
Perversion

 

 

Seminar VII: The Ethics of Psychoanalysis

Plus-one
David Ferraro
david_ferraro@hotmail.com
Melbourne, Australia
The drive, sublimation, and the political economy of jouissance
Member
Cara Brough
carabrough@gmail.com
Melbourne, Australia
Acting in conformity with one’s desire
Member
Ellen Smith
ellenmargaretsmith@gmail.com
Melbourne, Australia
Sublimation and the thing
Member
Eva Birch
evabirch@gmail.com
Melbourne, Australia
Hysteria, obsessional neurosis, and art

 

Sexuation

Plus-one
Rodrigo Gonsalves
rodrigo.gonsalves@egs.edu
Sao Paulo, Brazil
What in Lacan’s formalisation that ‘there is no sexual relation’ could examine the impasses of an international cartel-form?
Member
Eugénie Austin
eugenie@eugenie.com.au
Melbourne, Australia
Sexuation – Terminable or Interminable?
Member
Alicia Barrena
cabarrena24@gmail.com
Mexico City, Mexico
What is man to woman?
Member
S Brahnam
sbrahnam@missouristate.edu
Missouri, USA
What is the relation between Lacan’s declaration “There is no sexual relation” and the four discourses?
Member
Sadegh Omidghaemi
s.omidghaemi95@gmail.com
Esfahan, Iran
When all is said and done, what should we make (of) love?
Member
Christopher Wolter
christopher.wolter@egs.edu
New York, USA
What is the relation between castration and the formulas of sexuation; how does this play out clinically in analysis?

 

Lacan’s Four Discourses

Plus-one
Angus Craig
angus.craig@middlemore.co.nz The Four Discourses in the Function of Psychoanalytic Institutions: Is there a Borromean solution?
Member
Abdul Salam
salampsycho@gmail.com Lacan’s Four Discourses
Member
Stu Hatton
stu.j.hatton@gmail.com The Four Discourses and Developmental Diagnoses (PDA)
Member
Thomas Capogreco
thomas.capogreco@gmail.com The Potential for the Discursive Role of Musical Rituals in Educational Settings
Member
Jake Muir
jakecmuir@gmail.com The Four Discourses and the Ethics of Education: Student Agency, Institutional Power, and the University Discourse

 

The Question of Formation of the Subject

Plus-one
Dibyokamal Mitra
dminormitra@gmail.com
Kolkata, India
The imaginary and the subject
Member
Ala Akbarian
ala.akbarian@gmail.com
Tehran, Iran
Transference and Dynamicity of Therapeutic Relationship
Member
Michael KC Thanga
n.kcthang@gmail.com
Shillong, Meghalaya
Identification and the Subject
Member
Zameer Nawaz
zameernawaz@gmail.com
Mianwali, Pakistan
Lack and Desire
Member
Kajal Jha
kajalkajalkajal32@gmail.com
Delhi, India
Language of Dreams

 

The Body and Its Discontents

Plus-one
Astrid Lac
alac@yonsei.ac.kr
Seoul, South Korea
Sex, Sexuation and Sinthome
Member
Robyn Adler
robyncadler@gmail.com
Tasmania, Australia
The Function of the Written
Member
Jason Childs
jasonofchilds@gmail.com
Berlin, Germany
Assaying Analysis: Genre and Jouissance
Member
Henry Gardner
henrygardner@me.com
Melbourne, Australia
Another Round? The (W)hole and the One
Member
Mandy Marano
almarano67@gmail.com
Perth, Australia
The Developing Child / The Sexuated Subject and the Body of the Other

Formations of the Unconscious

Plus-one
Eugénie Austin
eugenie@eugenie.com.au
Melbourne, Australia
The Leaking Unconscious
Member
Penelope Allsobrook
pallsobrook@gmail.com
Cologne, Germany
Rattenschwänze
Member
Jas Matisse
member@caribicresidency.com
Berlin, Germany
Fascia (interstitium) – a newfound organ and body-wide communication system of unconscious processes
Member
Benno Schurig
contact@bearinmindbooking.com
Berlin, Germany
Formations of the Unconscious
Member
Dani Waltenberger
daniloniwalton@gmail.com
Berlin, Germany
Formations of the Unconscious

 

Autism

Plus-one
Leon Brenner
leon.s.brenner@gmail.com
Berlin, Germany
The development of the differential clinic of the rim in autism
Member
David Ferraro
david.ferraro@thepsychologyclinic.com.au
Melbourne, Australia
The status of the Other in autism
Member
Jonathan Redmond
drjdredmond@gmail.com
Perth, Australia
The direction of the treatment
Member
Noriaki Sato
noriaki.sato@monash.edu
Melbourne, Australia
Topological significance of the rim and the ontology of a void
Member
Serena Smith
serenasm@internode.on.net
Melbourne, Australia
The topology of the body and the function of the object in autism

 

Perversion and the State

Plus-one
Glenn Rutter
contact@lacancircle.com.au
Melbourne, Australia
Perversion and paraphilias
Member
Judith Beyer
beyer.judith@gmail.com
Konstanz, Germany
Politics as père-version
Member
Fida Elian
fida.elian@gmail.com
East Jerusalem, Palestine
Perversion in the colonial/capitalist discourse
Member
Joan Guenther
joanguen@sympatico.ca
Toronto, Canada
What the pervert knows – a case study: the truckers’ convoy
Member
William MacNeil
w.macneil@uq.edu.au
Byron Bay, Australia
Perverting the course of justice

 

Seminar III

Plus-one
David Ferraro
david.ferraro@thepsychologyclinic.com.au
Melbourne, Australia
Psychosis and the position of the analyst
Member
Leo Baldwin-Ramult
lbal452@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Auckland, New Zealand
Psychotic structure and the triggering of psychosis
Member
Dimitri Farmakis
dmtrfarmakis@gmail.com
Sydney, Australia
Virtuality and the maternal phallus
Member
Andrea Leon Lear
andrealeonlear@gmail.com
Melbourne, Australia
The workings of the real and the speaking body
Member
Sijun Shen
sijun.shen@monash.edu
Melbourne, Australia
Psychosis and melancholy

 

Dreams

Plus-one
Jonathan Redmond
drjdredmond@gmail.com
Perth, Australia
Dreams
Member
Pritam Banerjee
banerjeepritam21@gmail.com
Dreams
Member
Bodhiswata Biswas
bodhiswatabiswas@gmail.com Dreams
Member
Soham Chatterjee
soham.chatt.8@gmail.com Dreams
Member
Somashree Choudhury
choudhurysomashree@gmail.com Dreams

 

Interpretation

Plus-one
Russell Grigg
ragrigg@gmail.com
Melbourne, Australia
Interpretation as a performative
Member
Mia Lalanne
mialalanne@bigpond.com
Perth, Australia
The signifier: translation and interpretation
Member
Barbara Milech
b.milech@curtin.edu.au Interpretation as an act of love
Member
Suzanne Smith
sicadee@gmail.com Interpretation and the imaginary
Member
Jonathan Redmond
drjdredmond@gmail.com
Perth, Australia
Interpretation and the object a

 

Jacques Lacan’s Seminar XXIV

Plus-one
Natalie Wulfing
natalieweulfing@gmail.com
Berlin, Germany
What is a new signifier?
Member
David Ferraro
david.ferraro@thepsychologyclinic.com.au
Melbourne, Australia
Is psychoanalysis what one would call an autism à deux?
Member
Joanna Shemansky
joanna.shemansky@gmail.com
Melbourne, Australia
The concept of narcissism in seminar XXIV
Member
Grace Tarpey
drgracetarpey@gmail.com
Perth, Australia
Knowledge and the symptom
Member
David Westcombe
westcombe@mac.com
Canberra, Australia
Lacan’s use of topology in Seminar XXIV

 

Transference

Plus-one
Russell Grigg
ragrigg@gmail.com
Melbourne, Australia
Transference and the real unconscious
Member
Hanieh Moradi
moradi.hanieh@yahoo.com
Melbourne, Australia
Transference and the analyst’s desire
Member
Joanne Manning
joanne7155@icloud.com Desire and the discourse of the analyst
Member
Nalinda Amarasiri Gunwardana
agnalinda@yahoo.com
Bendigo, Australia
Transference and love
Member
Eva Birch
evabirch@gmail.com
Melbourne, Australia
Transference and jouissance

 

 

Write to the Lacan Circle Cartel Organiser, Ellen Smith, here

Lacan Circle of Australia Cartel Presentation Days will be held on 28 May and 4 June 2022. Join us!

Lacan Circle Cartels are intended to facilitate research and study in the Freudian Field, and are registered with the NLS. To enquire about NLS cartel activity please contact the NLS cartel delegate Joanne Conway.

 

4 + one quartreplusone is the journal of NLS cartels. It is published regularly and the latest edition is here

 

 

The Lacanian Review and TLR Online are published by the New Lacanian School (NLS). Both welcome submissions from NLS affiliated cartelisands

 

 

The Lacan Circle of Australia is an affiliate of the New Lacanian School (NLS), one of seven schools of the World Association of Psychoanalysis (WAP)

 

 

Thank you for your interest in Jacques Lacan and Lacanian psychoanalysis

 

 

Contact the Lacan Circle Cartel Organiser here
Visit our Cartel Presentation Days here 
Return to our Home Page here